2.6.6 Local Product Bans, Fees, and Recycling Requirements

LPDD Recommendation: “Congress could pass legislation that establishes minimum state recycling rates and food scrap diversion rates.”

LPDD Recommendation: “States could adopt laws with more ambitious goals (e.g., zero waste), intermediate targets, and timetables for achieving these more ambitious goals, and means of achieving them.”

California Recycling Market Development Act

Reauthorizes a Recycling Sales Tax Exemption; reauthorizes the Recycling Market Development Zone Program; and establishes a “Statewide Commission on Recycling Markets and Curbside Recycling.”

Brisbane CA Bag Ban

Requires retailers to stop giving out single-use plastic bags and instead only offer recycled-content paper or reusable bags for a minimum charge of 10 cents per bag.

Alameda County Bag Ban

Ordinance banning plastic bags and placing a 10 cent price requirement on paper and reusable bags.

California Bag Ban

Most grocery stores, retail stores with a pharmacy, convenience stores, food marts, and liquor stores will no longer be able to provide single-use plastic carryout bags to their customers.

California’s proposed SB 54 (2019)

Would require all single-use plastic packaging and products be reduced or recycled by 75 percent by 2030; require all single-use packaging and products be recyclable or compostable on and after 2030; and more.